F*ck Bad Friends, I’d Rather Be Lonely

Surrounding myself with people that only bring value to my life.

Joe Valentino
3 min readAug 18, 2021
Image by [Soulful Pizza] via [Pexels] Copyright-Free

Have you ever grown tired of bad friends? I’m not talking about the friends that are often late or that you have arguments with, I mean that’s all of us right? I’m talking about the kind of friends that are constantly dragging you down and adding absolutely no value to your life. If you’re shouting a big hella YES right now, I’m right there with you.

Friends are meant to be supportive, encouraging, fun and most of all they should add value to our lives. So why is it that we let ourselves settle for less than we know we deserve? I have been in this boat time and time again. And from my own experience in dealing with bad friends, I can wholeheartedly say that cutting them loose has been one of the best things I have done in my life.

If you’re anything like me, you’ve sometimes compromised on the quality of the people you surround yourself with, in exchange to have a moderately active social life. And I get it, no one wants to be lonely, everyone needs to have some sort of social engagement. However I would pose the question, is it more worthwhile to be lonely for a season, than to be in a bad friendship that only reaps bad fruit? I mean to the hell with it if it means that I as a person can be better and more authentically…

--

--

Joe Valentino

Professional Community Worker, Humanitarian and Mental Health advocate with a passion for culture, people and community.